Search
Notices

Red Line 53H Crap

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2010, 07:03 PM
delirium_knight

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Red Line 53H Crap

Im Very much not impressed with my RL-53H Engine i got with my Raptor Titan SE.I didnt even manage to run a tank of fuel through it. The Connecting Rod Blew up. Bottom skirting on the piston Cracked off and Engine Is now locked up Solid. Its getting sent back to the manufacture for replacement. Never even got to fly the helicopter. I was in the initial stages of getting needles set. Running rich for good break in. ( im not a newbie to glow). while trying to set needles. The engine started making a ticking sound and then died. Tried to start it and it was locked up. Pulled the engine out and connecting rod broke and piston damaged. Piece OF CRAP!!!
Old 06-02-2010, 11:05 AM
fieromx3

Default RE: Red Line 53H Crap

this just happpened on my 39h from thunder.... brand spankin new and had my 2nd tank throught it and boom! the rod broke! i hear this happening alot in thunder tiger engines.... thing was also very touch to tune... since then i got an os37 and so far this thing is an AWSOME motor not a whole lot of power but tuning and how smooth it runs is awsome.... os all the way!
Old 06-10-2010, 03:22 AM
Doug47
My Feedback: (24)

Thunder Tiger has released some VERY top shelf products the last few years, and back 10 years or so they'd hired away some O.S. engineer who pu ttogether some very nice engines for them.
I don't know what the scoop is now but I've heard they have some real problems with the high rpm two strokes.
I'll bet they fix them and they wind up being excellent, but that doesnt help the guy with a new heli and engine having to hassle with this sort of nonsense. The man didn't just fall off the turnip truck, so there's no question that this wasn't an overheated/over rev'd deal.