Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Tips & Techniques
Which to use? Epoxy or Poly. Resin >

Which to use? Epoxy or Poly. Resin

Notices
Tips & Techniques Want to share a tip or special technique you have either in the workshop or at the flying field or race track? Post it right here!

Which to use? Epoxy or Poly. Resin

Old 09-19-2002, 10:31 AM
My Feedback: (7)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Which to use? Epoxy or Poly. Resin

I have one of those cheap Lenier ARF sea planes made mostly of plastic, the fuse is all plastic and cracks . I am going to Glass the whole thing but wanted to know what the best resin to use, Epoxy or Poly, to stick to the plastic.
Old 09-19-2002, 12:37 PM

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default glass

I would use epoxy though I personally prefer poly as I have had a lot of experience working with it at the boat factory. The reson I would go Epoxy it because polyester resin generates a lot of heat and over plastic may react with it. Or you could use Polyurethane to glass with which is just as good as epoxy and I use that to glass all my planes. Epoxy is just too expensive and polyurethane gives a lot harder surface.

Joe
Old 09-19-2002, 02:29 PM
My Feedback: (11)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Joe, polyurethane what? Resin? Paint? I haven't heard of this (that's not surprising though) but it sounds intriguing. Is it lighter than epoxy? What about the stink? Give us the 411.

Bob
Old 09-19-2002, 02:44 PM
TRP
My Feedback: (1)

Poly resin will attack foam. I learned that the hard way

Ted
Old 09-19-2002, 05:25 PM

Default poly

Hi Bob Polyurethatne the clear finish they use on wood etc. check out the article here on my site abt glassing with it. it is the newest wave in glassing in rc a lot of people use it now a days and therre is laquer based which I loke using but is stinky and there is water based. http://home.mchsi.com/~jahuntley/help.html

Joe
Old 09-19-2002, 10:25 PM

Default Glass