Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Tips & Techniques
Reload this Page >

Let's Talk SMOKE!

Community
Search
Notices
Tips & Techniques Want to share a tip or special technique you have either in the workshop or at the flying field or race track? Post it right here!

Let's Talk SMOKE!

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2002, 10:44 AM
rdemy

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Let's Talk SMOKE!

Hi All,

I'm building a .25 Seamaster this winter, and I was thinking...

Wouldn't it be nice if when flying off the lake on a calm evening I had a way to make some smoke and do a few minutes of aerobatics...

So - I know absolutely nothing about smoke systems and I'm looking for all the advice I can get...

Remember this is a .25 size plane - so nothing overly heavy...

I thank you all in advance...

RD
Old 10-01-2002, 03:11 PM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Good luck! There are some systems out there that work strictly off the muffler pressure, but I have no experience with them. I am, however very familiar with the TME simple smoke pump. It is a good system, but will add considerable weight to your small plane.
Old 10-01-2002, 10:51 PM
Mendes
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Unless you plan on using a small four stroke, forget about it. A .25 two stroke won't put out enough heat to make good smoke. The weight will also be a problem. Maybe you could put some lights on it instead, they look great late in the evening.
Old 10-02-2002, 02:36 AM
MHawker
My Feedback: (16)

What about that "smoke stick" I saw in the latest Tower catalog. It looks like a firecracker. It says it provides smoke for about 3 minutes.

Anyone use one of those?
Old 10-02-2002, 05:08 AM
Dauntae

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts

I keep seeing posts about smoke on small engines and there not being enough heat, What would be the smallest you could go to get enough heat. The largest plane I have room for is a 40 size plane so would a 40-46 be enough.

Dauntae