Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Tips & Techniques
Reload this Page >

ADVICE NEEDED ON PAINTING MY GP F-14

Community
Search
Notices
Tips & Techniques Want to share a tip or special technique you have either in the workshop or at the flying field or race track? Post it right here!

ADVICE NEEDED ON PAINTING MY GP F-14

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2005, 01:18 PM
Warbird Warrior

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ADVICE NEEDED ON PAINTING MY GP F-14

I just recently purchased a Great Planes F-14 Tomcat from a LHS. Because I'm new to RC Airplanes this year and not ready to take on building from a kit, I've had to rely on ARF's and pre-built planes, especially since this kit has been discontinued. I was told the builder of this Tomcat worked or owned an auto body shop and that it has been been flown. It appears that the wing is covered in balsa and sheeted with glass. The fuse seems to be all balsa and plywood. The builder did the plane in a camo paint scheme that I didn't care for and so my plan from the start was to re-paint the entire bird into a more scale scheme.

After preping and sanding the existing scheme off, I primed the entire plane with a Rustoleum Professional Primer. I had to use Enamel because I couldn't tell what kind of paint the builder used and I was told Enamel would work even if the builder used a Lacquer paint. I have primed it, let it cure, sanded it and put a second coat of primer on it. The second coat is curing and once I have some more time, I plan to finish sand it, do one more light coat of primer if needed and then ready it for a final paint job.