Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Tips & Techniques
Reload this Page >

Silicone Mold and Plastic Casting

Community
Search
Notices
Tips & Techniques Want to share a tip or special technique you have either in the workshop or at the flying field or race track? Post it right here!

Silicone Mold and Plastic Casting

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2008, 06:24 PM
TEBerg
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Silicone Mold and Plastic Casting

I was asked on the warbirds forum to post a tutorial on casting parts for my project. (Global Skyraider Build Thread: http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_7276786/tm.htm ) Again, I’m no expert, but I’ll follow up on that request with the two types of casting I recently completed.. I do have some more photos of the “in between” steps if anyone is curious and wants to see a bit more painful detail..

For this casting project I’ll describe a “simple” cast with a flat bottom part that has minor undercuts. Just follow the discussion with the photos and you should be able to tell which each step looks like.

Project: I have clips for my Vortac bomb releases. However, since they are no longer made, I figured I’d cast what I want to use on my ordinance and If I start loosing parts, I can make more [smile]..

Simple Part Casting: