Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Tips & Techniques
Reload this Page >

Did a dumb thing today

Community
Search
Notices
Tips & Techniques Want to share a tip or special technique you have either in the workshop or at the flying field or race track? Post it right here!

Did a dumb thing today

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2009, 10:53 AM
JRFisher

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Did a dumb thing today

I've been flying for quite a few years and I've never done this before.

I did my pre-flight, started up and taxied to the end of the runway and did my range check. Everything is go.

I took off and about 1 minute into the flight the plane rolled 90 degrees to the left and restraightened itself immediately. Hmmmm. Probably dumb thumb. Flew for about another minute and the plane did the same thing. Hmmmm- better get her on the ground. On approach, the plane did it again. Fortunately I was able to get her on the ground without any damage.

I taxied back to the line and when I shut the engine down, I noticed that I had never extended the TX antenna.

I guess it all comes down to complacency. I think I will write down all the things I need to do and keep it in my flight box. I can read it prior to take off as a double check.

Its hard to get old.
Old 08-06-2009, 11:08 AM
Showtime100

Default RE: Did a dumb thing today

I have never done it but heard about it and I'd say your darn lucky to still have a plane. A lot of times they fly off into the sunset. I think it is one of the more common mistakes made. I try to do the exact same things, like a pre-game ritual. Extending the antenna is done every time just as I begin to start my taxi to the runway. I've done it that way so long that now it is like driving without a seatbelt. I feel kind of weird when I don't do it.

Pretty soon all the TXs won't have those extendable antennas anymore.
Old 08-06-2009, 11:10 AM
pdm52956
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post