Community
Search
Notices
Traxxas Monster Truck forum Discuss the Traxxas T-Maxx, E-Maxx, Super-Maxx and all other Traxxas monster trucks in this forum. You may also optionally discuss them in our MT general discussion forum.

High temps with os 18 cv-rx

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2005, 06:02 AM
BaSh_2_tHa_mAxX
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default High temps with os 18 cv-rx

Hey all i am in need of your help once again. Ok well i cant work it out my os engine is awesome great power and well what i would say tuned well but and im no beginner. It is running hot enough to burn up a drop of water on the engine head in 2 seconds and that is not good and quite hot for a os. Also it isnt running lean because white grey smoke is pouring out the exhaust pipe with oil aswell. I do have a bent cooling fin and im guessing this is the cause of my problems? or is it something else
Old 04-01-2005, 06:04 AM
BaSh_2_tHa_mAxX

Default RE: High temps with os 18 cv-rx

woops i dont know how i did it but i quoted myself. Sorry
Old 04-01-2005, 06:29 AM
jsn
My Feedback: (8)

if it's not lean... DON"T WORRY ABOUT IT! really if your not lean then your temps are due to poor cooling... lack of air flow or poor head sink... the CV-RX has a good head sink so it's not that. now you say you have lot's of smoke... well smoke is good BUT don't just go by smoke... it's a good sign but it really tells you nothing about being lean or not... I've seen engines running lean produce a good smoke trail. you say you have oil pouring out of the pipe... are you sure it's just oil? I ask because car fuels typically don't have a high enough oil content to do this unlike airplane fuels... it may be unburnt fuel and oil your seeing. The bent fin is nothing to worry about.. if it were broken off then maybe. IIRC you just rebuilt this engine... make SURE you don't have an airleak... that would explain the temps and tell you your in fact running LEAN.

John
Old 04-01-2005, 08:14 AM
hotchi1