Community
Search
Notices
Traxxas Monster Truck forum Discuss the Traxxas T-Maxx, E-Maxx, Super-Maxx and all other Traxxas monster trucks in this forum. You may also optionally discuss them in our MT general discussion forum.

HOW DO U TUNE AN ENGINE?I DONT GET IT

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2006, 09:48 AM
homeroFREAKINBRASILIAN

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HOW DO U TUNE AN ENGINE?I DONT GET IT

how do u do it or is it like cleaning it? im new to this and im gonna get the revo...(in about 2 months)and i wanna kno wut that means...........
Old 10-08-2006, 10:43 AM
rawkfist2

Default RE: HOW DO U TUNE AN ENGINE?I DONT GET IT

U will learn. It will rev really high when you let off the gas. Means its to rich. Temps go over 270 its to lean. Really easy. U will see. And nice choice of car.
Old 10-08-2006, 11:29 AM
Harvick

Actually tuning means different things, however I assume you mean tuning the engine. TUning and engine involves altering the air/fuel ration by turning the needles on the carb. Too rich is slow and can stall, too lean causes overheating and severe engine damage. What you are always looking for is the "perfect" in between. You judge tuning by different things, sound, performance, tempurature. For a newbie I recommend getting a engine temp gauge so that you are sure NOT to overheat your new engine. The sound and performance aspects of tuning will come with experience.

Tuning can also refer to shocks and suspension, which is mostly trial and error, to suit your driving style. none of which should cause and major damage to your truck. So I advise just try different settings and just look for what makes your truck handle how you want it to.
Old 10-08-2006, 12:42 PM
DaveG55

http://www.traxxas.com/
Go there and read, read, read.
They have every bit of documentation (and then some) that will come with whatever Traxxas vehicle you buy. They have lots of good info on maintaining, tuning, setting up, hopping up and lots of tips aand FAQ's.