Community
Search
Notices
Traxxas Monster Truck forum Discuss the Traxxas T-Maxx, E-Maxx, Super-Maxx and all other Traxxas monster trucks in this forum. You may also optionally discuss them in our MT general discussion forum.

Stampede XL-5 verses VXL

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2007, 10:28 PM
camperbeast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stampede XL-5 verses VXL

I am a beginner rc electric truck operator. I am a fulltime rver and am not by a dealer. I called dealer in Bakersfield Ca (I will be there wed. for 1 day) and he recommended the Stampede XL-5. I researched the web and found out there is a newer VXL. I called back and was informed he does not have the VXL yet. Is it that much better to cause me to wait cause if I wait my next chance will be in Wash. state next month. I had to give up my slow-stick airplane cause it seemed the wind was always to strong. Is the Stampede a good choice for me. It looked good on the Web.
Help.
Old 07-22-2007, 10:47 PM
Turbocruiser13

Default RE: Stampede XL-5 verses VXL

I purchased a nitro stampede less than a month ago. It's my first nitro truck. I prefer it over other MTs as the pedes are alot smaller so they can maneuver around a little better. They're also lighter so it doesn't take as much power to get them up and going. My nitro pede is like 7lbs whereas most other nitro MTs are between 11-13lbs. As for electrics, the vxl5 will do mid 30s as far as mph goes. That's perfect for beginners if you ask me. It's also running just under 200 bucks. The new VXL is supposed to be closer to 400 dollars, and will run upto around 65mph from what I understand. That's some insane speed for a monster truck, and I personally think way too much for a beginner. I believe you will be able to upgrade the vxl5 in the future once you've played with it and are ready to go faster, but like I said for now 35mph is more than enough for someone like you or me!
Old 07-23-2007, 04:37 PM
urjustamemory