Community
Search
Notices
Traxxas Monster Truck forum Discuss the Traxxas T-Maxx, E-Maxx, Super-Maxx and all other Traxxas monster trucks in this forum. You may also optionally discuss them in our MT general discussion forum.

A little worried!!!

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2008, 08:42 PM
tomcatguy74
My Feedback: (4)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A little worried!!!

Hey everyone,

I was running my Revo at my work(I work at an airport) and I was performing some high speed passes for my buddies on the flightline and I was not watching how long I was on the throttle at full speed and I brought my Revo in for a temp check and the first time I checked it it was at 315 degrees and I shut it down and let it cool for a few hours and the second time I ran it I got a reading of 360 degrees!!!!![X(]

I don't know how long it was at that temp but it was not very long. Maybe 20-30 secs before O checked the temps.

I am worried that I might have damaged the engine. I mean it ran fine before I checked the temps but I have not run it since I shut it down so I am not sure if anything has happened to the engine.

Is there anything I can check to make sure the engine is not damaged?

Should I break it down?

I hope evrything is ok.[]

Rob
Old 01-13-2008, 08:46 PM
NitroVenom

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: A little worried!!!

Its the 3.3 right? Honestly you shouldn't be to worried about engine temps goin up that high if it was only for a min or two. Its not the greatest thing but its not going to be fatal. What temp gun are you useing?
Old 01-13-2008, 08:51 PM
Clymer122693

tear it down and see if the piston is black if it is then you shortend the engine life but i would still run it till she finally dies and when you do high speed runs like that only do them for like 5 secs or less and then make sure you have a nice trail of blue smoke all the time when your driving it.
Old 01-13-2008, 09:07 PM
tomcatguy74

Hey,