Community
Search
Notices
Traxxas Monster Truck forum Discuss the Traxxas T-Maxx, E-Maxx, Super-Maxx and all other Traxxas monster trucks in this forum. You may also optionally discuss them in our MT general discussion forum.

trx 2.5 engine trouble maybe??

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2008, 06:26 PM
trnt_west

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default trx 2.5 engine trouble maybe??

ok ive had my truck since christmas and i have some experience in nitro engines but im not sure about this. and yes so you know i did do the break in process correctly and by traxxas specifications. but i had some troubles, on the third tank of break in my engine ran good for half a tank and then it got really sluggish and then died. i looked at the engine and a small stream of smoke was rising off the cooling head and my glow plug was shot. later that day i replaced the glow plug and the engine started up fine. i finished the break in with no problems and continued to run the truck. i now have about half a gallon through the engine and the other day i thought id take the cooling head off to take a look at the sleve and piston. i was left to see that the head of the piston was black and so was the bottom of the cooling head. so my question is... is there anything wrong with my engine? maybe its to lean but i have the hsn out 4 and a half turns and the lsn flush with the thing just like the manual says. any help would be greatly appreciated
Old 04-06-2008, 06:40 PM
HILLFINGER

Default RE: trx 2.5 engine trouble maybe??

ORIGINAL: trnt_west