Community
Search
Notices
Traxxas Monster Truck forum Discuss the Traxxas T-Maxx, E-Maxx, Super-Maxx and all other Traxxas monster trucks in this forum. You may also optionally discuss them in our MT general discussion forum.

Safe nitro oil content in 3.3 Motors

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2008, 06:20 PM
JustinGB

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Safe nitro oil content in 3.3 Motors

I currently own a 4909 T-Maxx and the 3.3 Jato. I have been using byrons 15% fuel in both of them. I am fairly new to rc cars and haven't had these two for a long time. My friend told me that the byrons fuel i use, which come from my lhs, has too little oil content.

Upon research, I found out that the byrons have a 12% oil content, while Traxxas recommends their fuel, Top Fuel, I cannot find ANY concrete numbers to support that they have extra oil in their fuels except their product descriptions say so. Now, am I okay to keep running Byrons as I'm going to try a 30% nitro mix without adding oil? is 12% enough? Does anyone know how much oil content Top Fuel have?

Thanks,
Justin
Old 12-28-2008, 06:45 PM
rcdudegermy10

Default RE: Safe nitro oil content in 3.3 Motors

Really anything above 10% is good... use 12-15% of oil in combination with after run oil, that's the best... If you're just bashing you're gonna want a higher oil content and you're gonna want to use 20% nitro, this way your engine will last longer
Old 12-28-2008, 06:52 PM
JustinGB

Thanks a lot for the info. Just wanted to make sure, and i'll take that advice for that 20% as I only use it for recreational purposes. Thanks a lot!
Old 12-28-2008, 07:01 PM
rcnitrohead

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Most of the crap spread around here is untrue about oil content, an excellent source for fuel content here:

Why 8% to 12% Oil