Community
Search
Notices
Twin & Multi Engine RC Aircraft Discuss the ins & outs of building & flying multi engine rc aircraft here.

Will they be enough?

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2006, 11:41 PM
fearless fly

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Will they be enough?

Hi all,I recently bought myself the newly released AWESOME DH88 Comet,(88" w/s). A friend was in need of some travelin' money,so I scored a real bargain. She came with the specially made oleo strut,rear retracting undercart,and two as new Saito .40 four strokes. The engine description says,"two .32--.40 2 strokes",or two .52 four strokes".The question I'm asking is,(as I have had no experience with Saito's of any size),will these be powerful enough to fly her,or should I go for the .52's,(which would be OS's).

Hoping you can advise me,

Fearless Fly
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Om34486.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	5.3 KB
ID:	398208  
Old 01-30-2006, 05:53 AM
Bad Driver

Default RE: Will they be enough?

Hi Fearless,
I am far from an experienced twin flyer, in fact I'm just starting to build my first 'twin-trainer', but I have been searching around this forum for quite awhile now doing some research

I had a look at the Awesome web-page ([link]http://www.modelengines.com.au/awesome%20rc.htm[/link]) but unfortunately they do not give the weight of the DH88. At 88" wingspan it could be a real heavy bird; similar sized warbirds - VQ P-61, KMP B-25 - are quoted at 15-18lbs+ so I very much doubt that your .40's will be big enough. Maybe if the Comet was specifically designed for electric power it would be lighter - as they always seem to be designed lighter - but I'd be looking at a pair of Saito 72's or similar to be on the safe side.

I would suggest you weigh the model plus all your electronics & accessories (retracts, etc) and come up with a AUW excluding the engines... I think you need to know this before anything else.

Hope that's helpful!
Old 01-30-2006, 05:58 AM
Bad Driver