Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Twin & Multi Engine RC Aircraft
Reload this Page >

Seeking opinions please

Community
Search
Notices
Twin & Multi Engine RC Aircraft Discuss the ins & outs of building & flying multi engine rc aircraft here.

Seeking opinions please

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2007, 09:36 AM
mrbassman

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Seeking opinions please

Hello everyone. Currently I fly IMAC (35%), and while I enjoy it, I want to build a twin. I am an experienced builder and flier, but I have no muti-engine experience. So, here's what I was thinking......

I really like the Top Flite Cessna 310, but I know I am not ready for that yet. What I was thinking was to build the Nitro-planes Cessna 310 and get some experience with that. Also, OS discontinued the 50's, but I heard the 55's will fit in the TF 310. What I want to do is build the Nitro 310 with the OS 55's, I can get experience and break the engines in at the same time. I know the Nitro 310 calls for 60's, but I think it would fly well with the 55's.

The other option would be to build a Dual Ace 46 and do the same thing only breaking in the 46's. The DA seems a bit small for me, that's why I was thinking about the Nitro 310.

All you guys with lots of twin experience, does this sound resonable? Is there a better way to go about it? Also is there anyone in the San Diego, Ca. area that flies multi-engines? Thanks.

Ken
Old 09-11-2007, 10:03 AM
boingram

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Seeking opinions please

Ken,

You are probably correct in staying away from the TF 310 at this point. Flying IMAC, you are certainly not afraid of the cost factor.

I am not familiar with the Nitro 310, but here are my thoughts and I have all of these airframes:

Seagull Dual Ace: Wonderful plane. Twin OS 46AX's, larger wheels and longer gear legs to help prop clearance. Balance at 100-105. I have dozens of flights on mine.