Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Twin & Multi Engine RC Aircraft
Reload this Page >

Engine size comparison questions.

Community
Search
Notices
Twin & Multi Engine RC Aircraft Discuss the ins & outs of building & flying multi engine rc aircraft here.

Engine size comparison questions.

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2007, 01:11 PM
quepasa

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine size comparison questions.

Hi all!
I'm thinking about bashing a C/G Falcon III and converting it to a twin.
My current Falcon III has a LA-.40 and flys great. I have no experience with twins, so am needing to know what size the engines would need to be to duplicate the performance of a single .40 sized engine in the same plane.
Is there any rule-of-thumb to figure this? Thanks in advance. Q.
Old 11-23-2007, 01:16 PM
Ram-bro
My Feedback: (101)

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default RE: Engine size comparison questions.

what is the smallest size engine recommended for the falcon? I am sure two 25s would be more than enuff. I know of no rule ....
Old 11-23-2007, 01:30 PM
quepasa

Thanks for the quick reply.
Weight is 4.5# w/.40, & kit calls for a .35-.45 2-stroke.
I guess my question is...does 2, .20s = 1, .40?
Old 11-23-2007, 01:36 PM
Ram-bro
My Feedback: (101)

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

for the falcon,I think you would be fine.
Old 11-23-2007, 04:42 PM
Ed_Moorman
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'd get another LA .40.

If you get 2 plain bearing .25s, you'll be low on power and your weight won't change very much. The nacelles will weigh the same. You can use 20-40 engine mounts from Great Planes and 4-6 ounce tanks.

Use a little out thrust so you won't have as much yaw when one engine quits. One .40 will keep you flying a lot better than one .25.
Old 11-23-2007, 07:27 PM
quepasa