Notices
YS Engines Support Direct support from YS Performance Engines by Dave Shadel

Engine life

Old 12-26-2007, 08:58 PM
spitfire66

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Engine life

I have been looking at buying a used YS engine and was curious as to how many gallons is the point where I should back off. The engine I was looking at was rebuilt 3 years ago and has had about 15 gallons run through it since then. Is this engine still considered low time/use or should I look for something with a less use? I am new to 4 strokes and I am trying to get general info. Thanks
Old 12-26-2007, 10:07 PM
Troy Newman

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Engine life

When its time for a rebuild has a lot to do with the conditions that its run in.

If you are flying off a grass field or a dirt field then it might be time to get new bearings at about 15-20 gallons of fuel. It will depend. As for engine performance 15 gallons is not very much. If its run in a dirty environment like I mentioned about time for a new ring too. if it has been flown in very clean environments then its not time yet.

The worst the flying conditions the more often you should replace the bearings and or perhaps the ring.

To give a rough estimate. I run the 160 and 170 engines in my pattern models. I burn 30% heli fuel and using a 20 oz tank I likely get around 8 flights 12-15mins each out of a gallon of fuel. 15 gallons is around 100-120 flights. On my engine....I usually will start to look at new bearings and new ring around 250-300flights.