Notices
YS Engines Support Direct support from YS Performance Engines by Dave Shadel

YS63- Factory Default LSN

Old 02-04-2009, 10:21 PM
  #1  
3d-aholic
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
3d-aholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 2,024
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default YS63- Factory Default LSN

What is the factory default for the YS63 LS Needle? I'm taking mine apart and I don't see that in the manual.

Looking at screw movement from the inside 2 turns out looks like it centers the set screw in the hole opening. Is that the place it should be?
Old 02-05-2009, 07:41 AM
  #2  
dmccormick001
Senior Member
 
dmccormick001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Soddy Daisy, TN
Posts: 217
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: YS63- Factory Default LSN

Rather than worrying about the factory default, why don't you turn your needle in slowly until it bottoms out, counting the number of turns it takes to seat it fully closed, then just remove it, do whatever you need to do, and replace it by screwing it back in all the way and backing it out the same number of turns it was out originally? That's the easiest way to do it, and should get you closer to the right place for your motor, your plane, your cowling, etc. than the factory defualt setting would anyway.

Of course, if you've already moved it that won't help you. I'd guess that the default position would be one that only partially blocks the hole, not one that centers the screw in the opening, but I don't know that for sure. It's usually easier to get an engine that's running rich leaned up than it is to keep one that's too lean running long enough to adjust it, so I'd start with the screw in some (rich) and back it out until it starts running smooth.

David
Old 02-05-2009, 07:57 AM
  #3  
petec
My Feedback: (58)
 
petec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Beaver Falls, PA
Posts: 2,078
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: YS63- Factory Default LSN

It is in the manual, one turn out from fully closed, see item one in "Low Speed Adjustment".
Old 02-05-2009, 09:19 AM
  #4  
wessco
Senior Member
My Feedback: (7)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Summerville, GA
Posts: 493
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: YS63- Factory Default LSN

1 1/8 should get you pretty dang close on 30%.
Old 02-05-2009, 10:14 AM
  #5  
3d-aholic
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
3d-aholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 2,024
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: YS63- Factory Default LSN

ORIGINAL: dmccormick001

Rather than worrying about the factory default, why don't you turn your needle in slowly until it bottoms out, counting the number of turns it takes to seat it fully closed, then just remove it, do whatever you need to do, and replace it by screwing it back in all the way and backing it out the same number of turns it was out originally? David
Ok, thanks guys.
Everything is disassembled already....and getting ready to go back together. I missed or misunderstood the one turn thing in the manual.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.