Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > Control Lines
Reload this Page >

Flew a electric control line

Community
Search
Notices
Control Lines For all you fly-by-wire fanatics!

Flew a electric control line

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2009, 08:56 AM
iflyg450

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Flew a electric control line

I am new to control line flying I have been flying 1/2a stuff brodak baby clow and pathfinder cox and norvel powered. Last week I put together a Sig shoestring and some outrunner I had laying around and used the eflite timer. IT WORKED GREAT! I was able to keep the plane slow giving other club members who have never tried control line a chance to have a go, they loved it know many of them are putting their own models together. None of them wanted a go at the TD 051 powered baby clow and 25ft line gee I wonder why? I have found that I take more control ine models to the field then R/C stuff.
Old 07-29-2009, 09:37 AM
build light

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Flew a electric control line

An added plus is that you don't have to carry a whole gallon of fuel everytime you go flying! Although many use a full size Field box, you really don't need one.
With fuel costs, you can do a lot more flying in the long run!

Robert
Old 07-29-2009, 09:45 AM
mikeainia
My Feedback: (1)

We have found that the electrics are MUCH less intimidating for a newbie or a possible RC convert than a glow engine - even if the glow is only a 1/2A. (By the way, a TD powered Clown on 25 foot lines would screw ME into the ground!).

You can set the electric for a very short flight and the pilot doesn't have time to get too dizzy or to have turbulence get things too out of shape. Plus, you can get a bunch of flights out of a single charge (come to think of it, that is how I learned to fly RC way back when - with an electric powered sailplane that I just launched and landed as many times as the battery would let me before it needed to be charged).