Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Extreme Speed Prop Planes
Reload this Page >

tuning a vmax 46, HELP!!!! please!

Community
Search
Notices
Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

tuning a vmax 46, HELP!!!! please!

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2006, 04:51 AM
casey_tribe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default tuning a vmax 46, HELP!!!! please!

Hi im new to this so if im in the wrong area, i apoligise, i have a stinger plane with a vmax 46.
im having trouble tuning it properly, i can get it to run nicely sitting on the horizontial, but as soon as i tilt it in an up ward direction it wants to die as if it is running to lean, i then tune it in the verticle position, get it running nice, bring it back to horizental, and now it is far to rich?[:-]
I have just replaced the fuel tank and lines,all o rings in the carby and the fuel with new fuel, i think it made some improvement but that could just be me,
any ideas?

Thanks

Old 06-01-2006, 05:52 AM
soarrich
My Feedback: (98)

Default RE: tuning a vmax 46, HELP!!!! please!

Is the engine broken in? Do you use muffler pressure?
Old 06-01-2006, 06:56 AM
wilkigmc

Sounds to me like your clunk line is too long, and when you hold it vertical the clunk is sucking on the back wall of the tank. I normally go for about 1/4 inch clearance. That or the clunk line may have a split near the front, although thats unlikely if youve changed all the lines.
Old 06-01-2006, 07:55 AM
bob27s
My Feedback: (19)

The symtoms you decribed here are not all that uncommon.

First, are you running the Vmax muffler ? Or an after-market muffler ?

What prop are you using ?

Is the fuel tank in a conventional location (Behind the firewall) or is it mounted away from the engine (near CG) ??

Assuming a conventional setup for a moment, with nothing more than a 10x6 prop ....