Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

First Maiden Flight

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

First Maiden Flight

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2010, 02:45 PM
manks7477

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First Maiden Flight

So I am not a real beginner, I have been flying for 3 seasons and part of a forth, but until today I have never dared to maiden one of my planes. That changed today. About 5 years ago I got into the building side of the hobby, the second plane I built was a Great Planes .40 Corsair, my all time favorite fighter. For five years it has been hanging up in my house. I started on a PT 40, mastered that, then moved to a 4 Star .60 with OS .91 FS in the front. I was always told that a Corsair is a third airplane at the earlest, so after feeling very good with a low wing tail dragger it was time to get the Corsair in the air.

I started couple of failed attempts with the Cosair, found some basic problems with construction the first trip to the field and had to pack it in, the second time I could not get the engine to keep running for more than a minute or so. I changed the motor, changed the fuel set up and all fuel lines and had it ready to go for today.