Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

First time builder... Needs advice.

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

First time builder... Needs advice.

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2007, 12:33 AM
dkf1979

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First time builder... Needs advice.

Hey guys.. I've been flying for 3 or 4 years. I have a Nextar, 4 star 40, Pheonix Models Extra 300 40sized, a Katana Profile 40 sized, and a Little extra. Out of the 5 planes I just mentioned... Only the Extra, and the Little Extra are in good flying condition.
My problem is, any time I try and fix a slightly broken plane.... I wind up just making it worse! I need to build a kit, to get some building experience. To learn how these things go together. That way, I can fix my planes when I doink'em!

Now is it me, or is there just not a lot of choices out there when it comes to kit building? Seems like everything is an ARF! Or maybe I'm just picky. But I know I won't be satisfied just building a burrito from a kit. If I'm going to put the effort into building from a kit, It needs to be sexy when i'm done with it. (anyone else know what i'm saying when a call an airplane sexy?)

Now I know that a lot of the really pretty planes are going to be a tough build for a begginer. But do you guys have any suggestions on some good first time, decent looking planes? I've really wanted a Cap 232 for a while. And i've almost bought the GP cap 232 a few times. But I've kept from buying in fear that it might be to difficult for a first time builder. Now I'm a carpenter, and a pretty handy person. I've got a pretty decent mechanical mind. So some challange on the build is desired.

Any help or advice would be greatly apprectiated. Spring is almost here and I don't have a new plane!!!! [X(]
Old 01-28-2007, 12:39 AM
bigedmustafa
My Feedback: (2)

Default RE: First time builder... Needs advice.