Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Old "SIG" J3-Cub 105" WS ??????????

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Old "SIG" J3-Cub 105" WS ??????????

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2003, 03:52 AM
jongurley
My Feedback: (29)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Old "SIG" J3-Cub 105" WS ??????????

Hello guys I just purchased a Older about 10-15 year old sig cub 1/4scale kit 105" wing span. Sig does not make this kit anymore and I have been flying for about 6 years but have never built a kit.. I noticed on the kit that it says craftman kit. And throughout the instructions it looks like it takes alot of sanding forming cutting etc... I am a pretty smart fellow just wondering if you guys think I should build a simplier kit first or go on with it just take my time..... Anysuggestions would be appreciated thanks....
Old 06-09-2003, 04:19 AM
William Robison
My Feedback: (3)

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

Jon:

Sig kits come in two varieties. Your 105" Cub, as you noted, is one of the "Craftsman" series.

The "Craftsman" series is neither for the beginner nor for the faint of heart.

Strongly advise you either to set it aside, or trade it off.

The other side of the Sig coin, a Somethin' Extra for example, is a line of kits that build easily and give excellent results unless you do a bum job on purpose.

As you have noticed, the "Craftsman" kit is a box of srticks. Much effort and skill required to get a good airplane. But when you are up to it, your product will be far beyond what you get from an ARF, or an "Easy build" kit.

Bill.
Old 06-09-2003, 01:48 PM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Ditto!
Old 06-09-2003, 04:29 PM
William Robison

This is a general advice column for anyone who has bought a kit and decided it's too much:
--------------------------------------
NO! I do NOT say sell the kit.