Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Glues

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2006, 08:46 PM
manks7477

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Glues

I have been building now for about 4 years and have always used CA and Epoxies, I don't know why, but I have never used yellow glue until the last couple of weeks. I don't know what you guys think of it, but I have really enjoyed using it, no realy mess, not smelly, cheap, and lots of working time. The only thing you have to do is pin it together, and wait, from my recent experience that has resulted in a better build overall.

What are your thoughts on the best glues to use, I always loved the speed of CA, and I will still use it from time to time, but I am really liking the yellow stuff. It is also easier to sand.
Old 09-05-2006, 09:05 PM
mmattockx

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Glues

I bet you will find a lot of builders agree with you. I like the aliphatics (yellow glue) myself for the reasons you state. If I'm in a hurry, I'll use CA, but I think the carpenter's glue gives a tougher structure overall.

Mark
Old 09-05-2006, 09:34 PM
manks7477

I will only use CA now if I am having real trouble getting the resin to cure, or I really need to move on. I love not having to pick CA off my fingers for hours. I never knew how much nicer it was to work with until the last couple of weeks.

From now on I am going to use it over CAs.

Cheers

manks
Old 09-05-2006, 09:58 PM
Ectomorph26

I a gorilla glue fan myself. Plenty of set time and it expands to fill in any gaps and I think forms a better hold on formers and ribs since it not only glues the top of the rib or former but as it expands it grabs around the edges too.
Plus you can glue about anything with it, it's non-toxic, non-acidic, 100% waterproof, heat resistant, and I could go on and on. I originally discovered it while looking at wooden homebuilt aircraft.