Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

UAT question

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

UAT question

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2009, 07:29 PM
carcraze

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UAT question

Hi all

I am new to turbines and have a question about a BVM UAT. My installation is 3 tanks, 1 main 78oz to a 24 oz to a 24oz to the UAT in series. The main is a long baffled tank with the clunk at the back with brass where it passes through the baffle, I have checked it once to make sure there is no tube fraying, looks okay maybe I should check it again. All tanks are safety wired not tie wraped and during ground running no air is entering. During the first few flights when I checked after the flight the UAT seemed to have no air or very little. I have since started flying a little more aggresively with more vertical down lines and such and noticed the last flight the UAT had some air in it an air bubble the width if the UAT which I am assuming is coming from clunks coming out of the fuel. The last tank was about 1/2 full after taxi in from the flight. My question is this normal for a little air in the trap or should it still be air free at the end of a flight and if it is not normal where should I start looking? Trying to prevent an air induced flame out so thought I would ask the experts. I was also wondering if it is enough concern to look at another type of UAT?

Thanks
Old 11-23-2009, 07:32 PM
ravill
My Feedback: (11)

Received 90 Likes on 72 Posts
Default RE: UAT question

Well, if you are certainly flying "more aggressive", that could certainly explain your findings.

To be safe, run up your fuel pump at the voltage that it usually see's at full throttle for the entire fuel capacity and see if the UAT sucks in air or causes cavitation.

If you see air on the ground runs, you have a problem. If you don't see air, then it's your flying!

Raf