Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Tanks
Reload this Page >

Trying to get started on a complicated electronics package; could use some help.

Community
Search
Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

Trying to get started on a complicated electronics package; could use some help.

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2015, 02:31 PM
alan_r

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Trying to get started on a complicated electronics package; could use some help.

Hello guys, if I. not mistaken, this may be my first post here. And boy do I have a good one. About a year ago I decided to add Tanks to my much to diverse interest in RC. So I went out and bought a Torro King Tiger, airsoft version. The tank has worked pretty good out of the box and I was quite happy with it. But as many of you know, as a hobbyist I had to plan upgrades. So I wrote out a plan as to what I wanted the tank to do and started buying gear. I collected most of it but then sailing season and off road racing season started and I put it on the shelf. Now I'm finally getting around to building it again and really don't know where to start.

The stock Tiagen TX works but leaves a lot to be desired. I know everyone is using the Turnigy 9x and that TanksAU has the firmware to convert it over from airplanes to a more tank friendly layout. So of course that's not what I bought. I was seduced by the touch screen and modern feel of the Turnigy TGY-i10 and found a good deal.

The next thing I wanted to do was to upgrade the control board. So I bought the TK-22KT board.

I have lots of other things such as a recoiling airsoft unit, 360 sensor ring, ect.. but I'll deal with that down the road. The first thing that makes sense for me to do is to get the TX programmed to handle tanks. Once that is done I can experiment and set up the channel functions. I'll likely need help with that down the road too.