Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Tips & Techniques
Reload this Page >

Band Saw Blade Recommendation and Setup

Community
Search
Notices
Tips & Techniques Want to share a tip or special technique you have either in the workshop or at the flying field or race track? Post it right here!

Band Saw Blade Recommendation and Setup

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2016, 12:19 PM
pappy35

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Band Saw Blade Recommendation and Setup

Band saw neophyte here. I recently bought a Craftsman 10" saw and am having some trouble getting smooth cuts.

I have zero experience setting one up so, as we all seem to do these days, I trolled YouTube and watched a bunch of set up videos (movie analogy, Matrix, Trinity: "Tank, I need a pilot program for a B212 helicopter."). My eyelids fluttered, and I figured I was all set to go. Videos like Carter's Alex Snodgrass for example was really good.

No dice. I've tried 6TPI, 18TPI raker, and 24TPI 1/4" blades, set the guide bearings just so, and regardless I'm still getting uneven cuts. I've cut all kinds of wood like 1x4 pine, 1/4 5-ply birch, 1x2 cedar, 1/8" lite-ply, balsa. I've varied the feed pressure (speed). I'm kinda at wits end. Seems like no matter what I do I get fine striations through the thickness that are 1/64" - 1/32" deep and about 1/32" wide (or long)

I was really hoping to get table-saw-like cut quality in these thin materials we use but so far these striations are kicking my butt.

Before I go out and get another blade (or throw the thing out the window), what do you folks recommend for either a blade, a setup spec, or both? I still have a couple of more blades to try but I'm reluctant to install them as I'm starting to believe the problem is either me or the saw.
Old 12-20-2016, 02:14 PM
dbacque
My Feedback: (3)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post