Community
Search
Notices
1/16th, 1/18th, Mini & Micro RC Cars Discuss 1/16, 1/18, Minis, Micros & any RC Cars smaller than 1/10th scale in this forum

18T Build screw up

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2007, 01:08 AM
baknaffekt

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 18T Build screw up

This is my first time putting a kit together, so I guess I was bound to screw up royaly at some point. While trying to thread my receiver antennae wire through the long plastic tube, I managed to tear the wire in half. Question 1: Can I solder it back together, or is my receiver doomed? Question 2: Any tips on how to get the antennae wire pushed through the plastic tube so I don't do this again?

Thanks
Old 01-14-2007, 01:12 AM
Racing T

Default RE: 18T Build screw up

yeah you can just solder it together again, and what I do to thread my receiver antena wire through the plastic tube is to put a few drops of wd-40 through it. ir you can just apply the wd-40 directly to the antenna wire.
Old 01-14-2007, 05:29 PM
Seek and Destroy

I just straithen it a couple times with my fingers and do it really slowly.
Old 01-14-2007, 07:26 PM
KRO

I use lock ease (graphite) and it glides right through .
Old 01-15-2007, 06:40 AM
abjones413

Baby Powder works great. Smells fresh too!! And of course, pull the wire gently through your fingers a few times to make as straight as possible, as well as the tube. A curved tube will cause problems...
Old 01-15-2007, 09:18 PM
baknaffekt

I soldered the wire back together today. I tried using WD40, but still no luck. I'll try straightening the tube out better. Right now I have the wire (not the receiver itself) in the freezer to hopefully stiffen it up so I can push it through. Thanks for the suggestions.
Old 01-15-2007, 09:30 PM
Seek and Destroy

Take it out of the freezer. I don't think it will do aything but make it worse. Juat do it slowly and straighten it. And when it comes out the top pull it through.
Old 01-15-2007, 11:06 PM
abjones413