Community
Search
Notices
"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

Rust

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2006, 10:56 PM
colingw

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Rust

All,

I just opened up one of my old reed valve Cox .049s, to find a small amount of what I believe to be rust inside. Well, I think it is rust. It is a deep maroon colour, almost black.

It is mainly on the inside of the piston, with a little bit on the big end of the con rod.

Everything still moves smoothly, it wasn't gummed up. Compression is fine.

Is my engine doomed?

If not- can someone suggest a course of remedial action to save it.

Thankfully it seems to restricted to just the one engine, and even if it is crocked I have a TD .051 piston & liner I could substitute, thereby creating a reed valve .051.

cheers,
Colin
Old 09-25-2006, 12:37 AM
Mr67Stang

Default RE: Rust

First of all I am no pro here. I have however been able to take seized engines and make them run again. you said it turns freely and has good compresion. I would soke it in castor oil and rotate the crank by hand working the castor in as much as possible, then drain it completely. I would then be ready for a test run. Ensure your glow element is not flooded with oil first. It would be a shame to burn out the element.
Old 09-25-2006, 12:40 AM
colingw

Someone suggested to me that it may not be rust at all, and that the dark red colour is consistent with oxidised castor oil residue.

I have checked and there is shiny metal underneath, and the dark red stuff is oily in texture.

Maybe not rust at all?

I'm going to give it a thorough clean & oiling tonight.

cheers,
Colin
Old 09-25-2006, 12:48 AM
Mr67Stang

Based on what you just said... no, it's not rust. Clean it. Lube it. Fly it.
Old 09-25-2006, 08:29 AM
lukesp

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Metho and pipe cleaners and away you go!

Luke.
Old 09-26-2006, 06:51 PM
colingw