RCU Forums - View Single Post - Impulse Buy ......
View Single Post
Old 09-22-2010, 07:29 PM
AlphaWhisky

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Impulse Buy ......

I have been flying rc planes for many years now, long may it continue. My only experience with helicopters was a brief flurry with the little foamy Silverlit type toys and their clones, followed by brief ownership of a Twister Bell medevac model shortly thereafter some years ago - all indoor models. I really have no aspirations to become involved in larger expensive outdoor helis.

That aside, a regular order of sundry hardware ex HobbyKing arrived here yesterday, among which was a Walkera 5G6 indoor heli complete with a WK-2402 tx - all an unashamed impulse buy for the total sum of $49.99

As of right now, I am still battling with the Chinglish instructions on how to change the Tx to my preferred mode 1 - I`m old enough for all this electronics stuff to still be a burdensome mystery - but I will persevere and maybe have got there by the end of the day.

I`ll head into town later and buy 8 regular AA cells for the Tx and maybe plan to install nicads or similar later. I have discovered a charger jack on the rear otf the Tx and surprise, surprise, my Futaba wall-wart charger plugs into here neatly.

Query # 1 - can someone confirm that the standard Futaba charger will work here before I try it out. My concern is for the polarity of the thing - I don`t want to prove it doesn`t via a cloud of smoke.... Also, if I install 8 individual A A nicads into this Tx, will I be able to cycle them in situ. A blocking diode prevents me from doing that with my Futaba 4YF Tx.