RCU Forums - View Single Post - Let's talk about servos - Whatever is on your mind
Old 10-28-2011, 06:24 PM
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Let's talk about servos - Whatever is on your mind

Let's talk about servos - Whatever is on your mind <hr size="1" style="background-color: #d1d1e1; color: #d1d1e1" />
When I was a new pilot I was confused about servos, how they were used, how they were mounted and how to pick them. So let's start a discussion about servos for all the new pilots.

Let's talk about types, sizes, how to pick them, etc., whatever you like.

Here are some general comments to get things started.

Servos are rated by:

Size - Length, width and depth
Strength - Measured in inch/ounces of torque
Speed - Measured in degrees per second
Weight - Ounces or grams (28 grams to the ounce)

For illustrations I will use Hitec's servo line but my comments apply to other brands as well.

Hitec web site -
http://www.hitecrcd.com/

Bearings

Some servos have no bearings. The plastic case essentially holds the shaft and supports it against pressure in use. The Hitec HS-55, HS-81 and HS-82MG servos would be good examples of servos with no bearings. They are very inexpensive and work quite well when new, but over time they wear and tend to lose their centering ability. However for light duty sport use they are fine.

I have many planes with these and similar servos of other brands. However today I generally buy servos that have some kind of bearings. These hold center better over time and move more smoothly over time.

For example a Hitec HS-85 BB is about the same size but a little more expensive than a Hitec HS-81 or 82. If I were putting a new sport plane/glider together I would chose an HS-85 over an 81/82 because the HS-85 has bearings to support the shaft.