RCU Forums - View Single Post - Nice new kit: OSMW Javelin
View Single Post
Old 06-05-2023, 07:49 AM
Outrider6
My Feedback: (2)

Received 33 Likes on 29 Posts

Originally Posted by Steelman93
How are you doing on the build? I have the same kit and have finished the wing, tail and fuselage and need to get electronics but am totally overwhelmed. I am new to the hobby and this is my first build. What servos are you using? The kit calls for standard servos, but I see standard listed from 9 gram to 37 gram, anywhere from $10 to $200. I understand differences, i.e. nylon gear vs metal, digital vs analog etc...but not what those differences mean. For an airplane like this....what do I really need? Looking to learn from your experience on this.

thanks
I haven't even removed the wood from the box yet, as I am in the middle of several other projects. I might start building it within a few weeks.

I know how overwhelming it must be to be new to building planes and all of the decisions you have to make. Information overload.

So far, I am planning on using Hitec HS-225MG servos on all control surfaces, and a Hitec 82MG on the throttle. I like Hitec servos, but some people prefer other brands. 225's are smaller (and lighter) and usually stronger than standard servos in torque, and I used them with good success on my SIG Somethin' Extra (plus I used them all the time 15-20 years ago, before I got out of the hobby for a while). But, because 225's are smaller and the servo holes are already cut out, I will need to study the plans and parts and see what I need to do to compensate for small servos going into regular sized holes.