RCU Forums - View Single Post - Emcotec Powerbox vs. Powerbus Pro
View Single Post
Old 03-22-2004, 09:55 AM
Kris^
Banned
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Emcotec Powerbox vs. Powerbus Pro

Since the wind was up this weekend, and I had to WORK anyway (YUCK .. another ruined weekend) I decided to play with voltage readings and see how things panned out. I'm studying the Emcotec right now, since the plane is still on the bench. I'll get the Powerbox 40/24 in this afternoon and go over it's readings.

I'm using dual 2100 ma NiMH packs (or. . I WAS), using Deans conectors (the super large ones). Voltage drop across the connectors is .001 volts or less, so you know they are doing their job. I started noticing a problem while slammng the sticks around and watching the DC voltage level. The battery packs started with 6.65 volts each, and the output from the Emcotec unit was a steady 6.1 volts with system ON, but no movement.

I've always felt that the best way to see how efficient a planes battery power and wiring are working is to watch the voltage while you hit the Snap button at full rates. This moves all three major controls at the same time, effectively putting maximum load on the battery system. A lot of people forget that the highest current drain form a motor is not while it's moving, but when it's NOT moving, then starts to move. During that very short period the motor basically acts as a dead short while the magnetic windings absorb voltage and turn it into inductence. As soon as a full magnetic field develops, you get a steady amount of "reluctance" (basically, the resistance to current flow through a steady magnetic field. . i.e.. . full charge inductor/winding/transformer), and the amount of current flow is much lower.