RCU Forums - View Single Post - Best affordable jet trainer?
View Single Post
Old 01-06-2002, 06:24 AM
Shaun Evans

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default First Jet

I wanted to chime in on this one. The Yellow Aircraft Starfire is pretty hard to beat as a first jet. It is true that it takes a bit more piloting than the TGA planes, but only in the sense that it lands at a slightly faster clip. In the air, the airplane will slow down to a crawl with flaps, and it can approach 200 at full throttle with an O.S. .91.

I've been flying this plane for a few years now, and most people are impressed with its performance (although most people aren't impressed with the way I've been landing lately--but my coach, Buck, has almost got me back where I used to be).

The price of the kit isn't much more than that of the TGA birds, and definitely low compared to most 'jet trainers', but the quality of the kit is superb. The construction time and effort is less, too. Yellow Aircraft has two versions of the Starfire, one with the traditional polyester glass fuse, and this one is roughly $80 less than the newer, pre-primed, carbon-reinforced epoxy-glass kit. Turbine accessories like exhaust systems, fuel tanks and turbine inlets are available, too.

Like all Yellow Aircraft kits, you immediately feel like you got MORE than you paid for when you open the Starfire box. The quality of the kit and the fit of the parts is very, very good. The kits, and all of the necessary components to build one, are available (at discounted prices) from me.