Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > 3D Flying!
Reload this Page >

Flip 3D servos

Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

Flip 3D servos

Old 07-08-2004, 08:27 AM
  #1  
wyflyer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Edmore, MI
Posts: 189
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Flip 3D servos

I recently bought a Flip 3D, and I am trying to decide which servos I should use in it. I would like to keep these as inexpensive as possible, but I definitely don't want to skimp. I was looking at the Futaba S3305 servos and I was wondering if they are any good. Are they precise and strong enough for all the surfaces including the rudder? Is there something else in that price range that would work better? What are you using in your flips?

Thanks for your help[8D]
Old 07-08-2004, 09:15 AM
  #2  
Rhilluk
Senior Member
 
Rhilluk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: TauntonSomerset, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 905
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Flip 3D servos

they'll be fine, anything over 5kg is cool, try to put MG on the rudd andelevator, otherwise you cuold strip the gears, mine uses hitec 546MG and they pull 7.7kg on 4.8
Old 07-08-2004, 10:20 AM
  #3  
lord lucan
Senior Member
 
lord lucan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: England, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 716
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Flip 3D servos

Flip-3D nice..

.... Standard sevo's, 3004's, are O.K for this little 2,5kg chappie..so it says ...Go on then ...ramp it up to a respectable 3001... not much more dosh involved...3305's are well in excess of anything the little Flip could ever require..twice the price of 3001's
Old 07-08-2004, 10:37 AM
  #4  
Shahid
Senior Member
 
Shahid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: London, US MINOR OUTLYING ISLANDS
Posts: 1,538
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Flip 3D servos

3010's? £20 from the right places, you could use any low end servos, but a 3010 as an upgrade later on would be nice, thats what Im doing
Old 07-08-2004, 10:42 AM
  #5  
Rhilluk
Senior Member
 
Rhilluk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: TauntonSomerset, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 905
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Flip 3D servos

it's more the fact that the gears can get shredded, especially in manourvers such as the wall so you need MG. Also don't forget lord lucan (bow, with respect), when you are doing 3d and all the servos are going, the suplly voltage drops to the servo's so they might not be puling what they quote in the specs.
Old 07-08-2004, 11:28 AM
  #6  
Ian.W
Senior Member
 
Ian.W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Essex, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 4,285
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Flip 3D servos

please please get good quality servos, buy the 3305, their metal gear and 9kg of torque. i made the big mistake of having 148s in mine, huge amounts of slop, at least an inch and they eventually gave up and totaled my plane. spend the money in the short term, and save in the long run
Old 07-08-2004, 11:37 AM
  #7  
lord lucan
Senior Member
 
lord lucan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: England, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 716
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Flip 3D servos

..Shahid & Foof..

Gents...how are we ..? I had allways been a devout Futaba sort of chappie ...until a few weeks ago .... after going round servo data for what seemed like years, i whizzed out and bought 5 new 3010's...installed the little devils...set some throws ...rates etc ..checked linkages ...checked again ...measured control surface end distance " float" etc , etc .....took the 3010' out.

Inwoods are still selling JR DS811's for less than £20 ...

The 3010 is a standard hi-torque servo, no more, no less...Its recomended, as with the 3305's that you only run these servo's ONLY with NiCaD's....because of the high current drain.......the 3305's have a nicer gear [email protected] twice the price... & they still aint Digital.

Shreded gears....Nah..same gear set inthe 3001 as the 9001 wich is rated at 5.2 kg...again way above what the lovley Flip is going to ask @ 2.5 kg weight

.....[:-] 3001's @ 6v on a 1650 MaHr NiMh...worth a thought ...6v gives you the HP and 1650 MaHr..the fuel tank ...so to speak
Old 07-08-2004, 11:46 AM
  #8  
Ian.W
Senior Member
 
Ian.W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Essex, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 4,285
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Flip 3D servos

i used 148s which are the same as 3001s apart from not ballrces on the same nimh as you, trust me, stay away from them
Old 07-10-2004, 08:01 PM
  #9  
wyflyer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Edmore, MI
Posts: 189
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Flip 3D servos

I know that the torque on the 3305 is plenty for the flip, but I wanted to know if they were good servos ie. minimal slop etc. It sounds like they are good, and I will use those. Thanks for the advice!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.