Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > 3D Flying!
Reload this Page >

Engine For TOPCAP

Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

Engine For TOPCAP

Old 04-09-2003, 12:25 AM
  #1  
PittsPilot
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine For TOPCAP

Hey I was wondering what you fellas had to say about which engine to stuff in a Topcap. I was considering a piped MVVS .49 or a YS .45 (piped?) any thoughts out there?

Many thanks
PittsPilot
Old 04-09-2003, 04:27 AM
  #2  
3dkid
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Fairfield, CA,
Posts: 162
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine For TOPCAP

i would get a Rossi .53 if you could.... and pipe it... that would be awesome.... i had a rossi .45 on a 4.5 pound sudokhoi ARF and it was almost perfect.... so a .53 on a pipe would be more then perfect.... which is what you want






David
Old 04-09-2003, 10:09 AM
  #3  
stomper
Senior Member
My Feedback: (20)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Clayton, NC
Posts: 2,249
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default hey Pittspilot

I love the new OS 50SX i have on my Top Cap. Very strong engine!

Doug
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	69330_576.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	28.2 KB
ID:	42010  
Old 04-09-2003, 12:36 PM
  #4  
FlyHard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Nassau, NY
Posts: 302
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Pipes

I don't like pipes for aerobatics. You just don't get a smooth transition. Had a TopCap and a OS .46 was more then enough power. The plane is not intended to be flown fast. It's best flown low,close and slow. Any engine around a .46 that is reliable, you don't want it to die in a low hover, will be fine. I like the YS due to the pump.
Old 04-09-2003, 02:37 PM
  #5  
Cabane
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Weatherford, OK
Posts: 252
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine For TOPCAP

I ran a MVVS49 with stock muffler on my kit built Topcap. Plenty of power on 10% nitro.
Old 04-09-2003, 02:40 PM
  #6  
bigbri
My Feedback: (287)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: dracut, MA
Posts: 911
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine For TOPCAP

Had a surpass 70 in mine...AWESOME
go0d luck
B-
Old 04-09-2003, 03:04 PM
  #7  
JohnVH
My Feedback: (38)
 
JohnVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ferndale, WA
Posts: 16,134
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Engine For TOPCAP

Mine has a Saito .72, and a buddies had a saito .91. Both good combo's if going 4stroke
Old 04-09-2003, 04:31 PM
  #8  
dalita
My Feedback: (82)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 177
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine For TOPCAP

I had an MVVS 49 that was strong, but would not transition cleanly until I put the MVVS 40 carb on it. Sold it. Also had a YS 45, no pipe. It was STRONG but temperamental. Sold it. Am now running Irvine 53's. I am very happy with them. Good luck. Dale
Old 04-09-2003, 07:07 PM
  #9  
SARGE
Senior Member
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Tolland, CT
Posts: 242
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine For TOPCAP

I too have an OS 70 four stroke.
Old 04-09-2003, 07:24 PM
  #10  
JB Rekit
My Feedback: (3)
 
JB Rekit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 543
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine For TOPCAP

i'm putting a saito .72 on my sledge and have used a os .46 on my fazer. I think the 4 stroke will help it torque roll easier and have better low end.
Old 04-10-2003, 12:41 AM
  #11  
m.gramling
My Feedback: (8)
 
m.gramling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Atoka, TN
Posts: 1,788
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine For TOPCAP

It the topcap a kit any good .46-53 will have more than enough power.

If it is a ARf, I would go with a YS63 or Saito 72.

I had a topcap ARf, with a YS63 and absolutely loved it. Put the YS63 on a Knife ARF and loved it. But my topcap ARf, and knife ARF on a 46 size 2 stroke just wasn't the same. I like 4 stroke on it better.

I have a knife kit that has a TT46 with stock muffler on it, and performance is great. I haven't had the urge to put the YS63 on it because I am happy with a kit and TT46.
Old 04-10-2003, 04:39 AM
  #12  
PittsPilot
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine For TOPCAP

Thanks every one for you copious posts. I'm still leaning toward a two stoke because I would like to keep the plane as light as possible but I also know that a YS .63 would weigh about the same as a .45. However I really don't want to pay up for the .63 since I'm going to hang it on a profile. Profiles ought to be light, cheap and fun (IMO) so you can really hang it out there without getting sweaty palms I'm kind of thinking a YS .45 and a MCP. Any further thoughts? Has anyone tried a MCP on a YS .45?

Thanks
JW

PS sorry for the slow post
Old 04-10-2003, 03:12 PM
  #13  
flip3d
Senior Member
 
flip3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: louisville, KY
Posts: 423
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine For TOPCAP

WEBRA 50 with stock mufler
good combo

3d
Old 04-11-2003, 10:03 AM
  #14  
sport10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 736
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine For TOPCAP

I second the Webra 50 GT. If you are in the quest of saving weight this engine has the highest power to weight ratio in its class. The engine weights around 13 1/2 ounces with muffler attached!!!!! This engine is a real powerhouse not giving up any ground to the OS .50 or the Irvine 53. Its transitions extremely fast on the throttle too. I have this engine on my TopCap ARF using a 12x4 APC and it is a rocket out of a hover. I had to put the battery and the reciever as far foward as I could in the wing to acheve my CG at 5". It flys very well here do all the 3D style manuvers well. The harrier and elevator are very smooth using spoilerons at 50% and elevators drop straight down when the spoileron is used. Mixing the flaps to the elevator during waterfalls makes the plane waterfall within its on length. Very cool eye opening manuever from a 10 foot hover. 2 degrees of right thrust makes torque rolling easy.
Old 04-11-2003, 03:31 PM
  #15  
PittsPilot
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine For TOPCAP

Sport10-

Where did you get your Webra? Based on your recomendation, I think it's time to try a webra.

Thanks
JW
Old 04-11-2003, 04:02 PM
  #16  
3dkid
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Fairfield, CA,
Posts: 162
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine For TOPCAP

rcsuperstore.com has the webra .50 for $119




David
Old 04-11-2003, 09:25 PM
  #17  
Chris 540
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: hampden, ME
Posts: 1,058
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine For TOPCAP

Saito 72...light enough for me..
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	69974_110.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	31.6 KB
ID:	42011  
Old 04-11-2003, 09:58 PM
  #18  
jester1a
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Merrimack, NH
Posts: 201
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine For TOPCAP

bigbri or slabs,
Did you have to do anything special to get it to balance far enough back to get it flying "light" ? I'm just waiting for a replacement wing panel( broken in shipping) to get the thing ready. BTW I bought the ARF ( my 1st ARF ever) to replace a splashed Su-Do-Khoi that died from flutter I think.

JESTER
Old 04-11-2003, 10:05 PM
  #19  
Spaceman Spiff
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ,
Posts: 1,652
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine For TOPCAP

The webra is well spoken of, just ordered one tuesday to see for myself.

I have a TC with an Irvine 53, 12.254x3.75APC and stock exhaust. Like it a lot. Has never flamed out, and provides plenty of power. Reasonably good transition too.
Old 04-11-2003, 10:58 PM
  #20  
sport10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 736
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine For TOPCAP

I bought my Webra 50 GT at my local hobbyshop. It was 149.00 then but the price has been dropped to 129.00 recently. When running this engine for the first time you might have to lean the low speed needle from the factory recommend setting to get it through the midrange. The recommended setting tends to loadup the midrange badly but fixing this is easy. Just run the engine where the engine is loading up and lean the low speed till the engine takes off. You might want to run some castor in you fuel till the engine is broke in just in case of a lean run.
Old 04-11-2003, 11:35 PM
  #21  
krayzc-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kannapolis, NC
Posts: 7,415
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine For TOPCAP

Top Cat flyers......

are you all using the stick built kit or the ARF?

any differences?

fill me in as my mouth is watering bad!!!!!!!
Old 04-12-2003, 02:44 AM
  #22  
sport10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 736
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine For TOPCAP

I am flying the ARF version of the TopCap. Using the Webra 50 w/ 12x4 apc gives totally unlimited vertical with instant response to the throttle. The cover job is very sweet looking and has good contrast in the air. My plane flies very light on the sticks with the CG at 5". The rolls are axial and no pull when flying inverted either. It performs all the 3D manuevers with ease. Very stable harriers and elevators using spoileron mix. Waterfalls stay tight without falling out into a knifeedge spin.
Old 04-12-2003, 02:18 PM
  #23  
SARGE
Senior Member
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Tolland, CT
Posts: 242
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine For TOPCAP

jester1a:
My TopCap balanced perfectly with the OS motor. Didn't add any weight and I'm using an nickel metal hydride battery to save even more wight. I have the ARF version and am using a APC 13x6 prop and every time I fly it it brings a smile to my face. If something happens to this plane I would get another with the same setup.
Old 04-12-2003, 02:24 PM
  #24  
jester1a
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Merrimack, NH
Posts: 201
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine For TOPCAP

Thanks slabs. I didn't want to finish it just to find that I should have mounted something somewhere else and have to kluge it up- my specialty!

JESTER
Old 04-12-2003, 02:30 PM
  #25  
SARGE
Senior Member
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Tolland, CT
Posts: 242
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine For TOPCAP

Glad to help I think your really going to like this plane.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.