RCU Forums - View Single Post - do you really need a computer radio????
Old 04-26-2006, 08:58 AM
RCKen
RCU Forum Manager/Admin
My Feedback: (9)

Received 27 Likes on 24 Posts
Default RE: do you really need a computer radio????

I've been flying for about 10 years now and instructing for a little bit more than 6 years. While having computer radio is nice when you have multiple planes I think that the new pilots should stay with the standard "bare bones" radio for learning to fly. Why?? Plain and simple, the student needs to learn to fly the plane. With computer radios there are a lot of "extras" that make it easier for a pilot when flying. These extras included (but not limited to) aileron to rudder mix, flaperons, end point adjustments, and exponential. While all of these are great features that do help pilots to fly their planes, it can hurt a student while they are learning to fly. The reason for this is because the student quickly learns to rely on the radio to perform things that the student needs to know. If they rely on the radio and never learn the skills then that will become a weakness down the road as the advance to more capable planes. It my opinion that a student who can learn these skills when learning to fly will be a better pilot in long run. Especially true would be a student who learns to use the rudder for more than just steering the plane on the ground..