RCU Forums - View Single Post - GrimRacer Surface Drive Strut & Rudder
View Single Post
Old 11-23-2007, 01:54 PM
jetpack
My Feedback: (1)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default GrimRacer Surface Drive Strut & Rudder

I'm planning my project and looking at GrimRacer's strut and rudder that is used on the 27" Nitro SuperVee (.18 power).

I am also new to monohulls, both building and running. Would someone be able to tell me if this would be a good answer to what should be put on my boat?

The reason I ask is what performance I can expect. First of all the boat is an older, all wood design called a "Norco R/C Eaglet" and will be powered by a strong .21 engine. It is a shallow V design and planning on adding a right side turn fin and a removable Octura brass center skeg to help in the corners. If you look at the build pics, the bottom of the boat is just a large running pad, built like a ski, with the sides of the bottom being stepped up for less drag. I would guess the total vee angle is only about 7 degrees per side.

The transom area is quite small on this, and brackets will be crowded. Original plans call for a standard transom mounted sub-surface drive setup. Is a surface drive even a good idea for this boat?

Grim's hardware is quite nice looking being CNC machined and anodized, and is a reasonable cost and good availability compared to the others that are more expensive, race orientated Speedmaster or the like. I would also like to learn some of it's sizes such as flex and stub shaft size and threads. I use standard 1/8" bore Octura and Prather props. Sizes to start with would be great too!