Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Aerodynamics
Reload this Page >

Sukhoi build

Notices
Aerodynamics Discuss the physics of flight revolving around the aerodynamics and design of aircraft.

Sukhoi build

Old 07-14-2019, 03:12 PM
rj lemay
My Feedback: (6)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sukhoi build

Hi Everyone,
I've started a Sukhoi SU26 scratch build from an AeroFred plan. I have many years of experience building from scratch, and I've usually had good success,with a few exceptions! Anyway, can someone help me with an exact incidence on the wing and stab for a plane this type? The plan is showing 0 degrees for both, but I don't think that's correct. It'll have a 90" wing, and the fuse is around 63". Power will be from a Saito FG R3 radial. I'm going for around 20 lbs, rtf.
Thanks much,
Bob Lemay
Old 07-14-2019, 04:25 PM
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)

Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts

Bob, you are exactly right that 0-0-0 is not what you want although up until recently it was pretty much the standard. I think at some point guys started to figure out that it is much easier to fly precision aerobatics if the airplane were set up to fly more true. I think we have all read/heard guys state that certain aerobatic airplanes are less stable, snap happy, a handful etc. Over the past 20 years I have learned that those comments simply come from the old school that didn't really take the time to learn why their airplanes behaved the way they did.