Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF
Reload this Page >

Showtime 50 servo confusement.

Notices
ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

Showtime 50 servo confusement.

Old 07-29-2008, 03:08 AM
  #1  
RappyPilot
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Johannesburg, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 497
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Showtime 50 servo confusement.

Hi

I am a bit confused as to which servo's to use for a Showtime 50 that I am building.

The Hangar-9 website stated that you need sevo's with at least 47oz torque, yet the manual recommends standard JR servo's which have 40oz of torque.

I have 3 HS-325HB's looking for a plane, they are rated at 41oz of torque.

Would those be sufficient on the elevator and rudder? Got 2 HS-635's that I am using on the ailerons.

Got 3 HS-6975 digital servo's as well that I can use but they are seriously overkill IMHO.

Old 07-29-2008, 04:27 AM
  #2  
freeair
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: queensland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 891
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 servo confusement.

run the servos on 6 volts [ 5 cell pack ] this will bring the torque up alot.
Old 07-29-2008, 06:49 AM
  #3  
ro347
Senior Member
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Nutley, NJ
Posts: 2,322
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 servo confusement.

I would play it safe and use 47oz or more. I also recommended you try and use a metal gear servo with good torque on the rudder.
Old 07-29-2008, 09:37 AM
  #4  
NJAIRSTRIKE
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: , NJ
Posts: 464
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 servo confusement.

I would put the lowest torque servo's on the ailerons and the highest torque servo's I have on the rudder and the middle torquest servo I have on the elevator.
Old 07-30-2008, 01:01 AM
  #5  
RappyPilot
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Johannesburg, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 497
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 servo confusement.

Hi guys.

Thanks so much for your input.

Dumb question though, why a higher torque servo on the rudder and not the elevator. In my thinking I woud assume the elevator needs a higher torque servo, the elevator is used much more often. I am a heli pilot by birth, and thus always use my rudder for coordinated turns and landing but my elevator stick is much more active that the rudder when doing loops and yank and bank turns.

Got my Showtime delievered last night Popped into my LHS and got myself an OS55AX and some props and an aluminium spinner while I was there. (Aren't hobby shops bad for your wallet)

Oh man, opened the box, everything is so neatly packed, compartmentalized. The covering was perfect.

Once again I am suitably impressed with Hangar 9 kits, they are REALLY worth the money. This is my 3rd Hangar 9 kit and as always, impressed.

But to get back to my servo issue.

Decided that I really want to make an effort to make this plane as great and flyable as possible with what I have.

So I am going to put the HS-635's on the ailerons and incorporate flaps. Then I have an HS-325 which I am going to use on the throttle and I am going to put my HS-6975's on the tail surfaces.

Glad that I bough a Futaba 7C back in the day, always knew a 7th channel might come in handy so I don't have to much about with y-harnasses etc.

Anyway, time to get building ....

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.