Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > Batteries & Chargers
Reload this Page >

Complete Newb needing help with 3S Lipo selection for Traxxas Rally/Slash VXL

Community
Search
Notices
Batteries & Chargers Nicads, Nickel Metal Hydride, Lithium, LiPoly, Chargers, Cyclers, etc...

Complete Newb needing help with 3S Lipo selection for Traxxas Rally/Slash VXL

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2016, 05:02 PM
Vigil@nte

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Complete Newb needing help with 3S Lipo selection for Traxxas Rally/Slash VXL

Hi All,

I recently purchased a Traxxas Rally VXL 1/10. It comes with a 7-Cell 3000mAh NiMH (8.4 volts) and I am looking to upgrade to a 3S Lipo. Through reading forum posts, I have a general idea of 2S vs 3S and mAh ratings.

Can anyone give me specs of the most ideal 3S battery specs for this car?

Specs:
  • Lipo - 3S
  • mAh rating - ????
  • C Rating - ????
  • Volatage - ????

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Coy
Old 03-06-2016, 06:53 PM
collector1231
My Feedback: (1)

I'd say 5000 MAh with at least a 40C rating. Voltage on a 3S pack is always 11.1V. You being a noob though, you may want to go with a 2S (7.4V) pack to begin with, as I think the 3S would be too much for you to handle right now. Later you can upgrade to a 3S pack. Also, do you need a charger? If so, I suggested one below.

2S pack; http://www.atomikrc.com/collections/...-with-uni-plug

Charger; http://www.atomikrc.com/collections/...attery-charger
Old 03-07-2016, 07:12 AM
RustyUs

Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts

Originally Posted by Vigil@nte
...Traxxas Rally VXL 1/10. It comes with a 7-Cell 3000mAh NiMH (8.4 volts) and I am looking to upgrade to a 3S Lipo....
Welcome to RCU.

What is it that you are not getting from the 7 cell pack?
Are you looking for just more speed?
Old 03-07-2016, 09:33 AM
Propworn
My Feedback: (3)

Received 29 Likes on 24 Posts