Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > Batteries & Chargers
Reload this Page >

How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

Notices
Batteries & Chargers Nicads, Nickel Metal Hydride, Lithium, LiPoly, Chargers, Cyclers, etc...

How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

Old 01-24-2014, 11:57 PM
  #401  
Tommygunn792
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 156
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Fair enough but it seemed like a hell of a wallop for 5 or 12Volts, presumably it's the current that gives it the kick?
Concerning having a load to the PSU, I don't turn it on unless the charger is plugged in or some other item I'm powering.

Tom.
Old 01-25-2014, 07:35 AM
  #402  
Zrock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: *, BC, CANADA
Posts: 123
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

the belt you felt might not be teh 12 or 5v it may be the incoming 112v on that side its hard to say.. Putting a load on the 5v side increases and steady's the voltage on the PS
Old 01-28-2014, 12:05 AM
  #403  
Tommygunn792
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 156
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Zrock,
As long as it is all normal then fine. Mind you the click/tick noise is a small concern but at the moment I'm putting that down to components energising.

I got belted with 230V, I'm in Italy!

Tom.
Old 01-28-2014, 06:03 AM
  #404  
karolh
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mandeville, JAMAICA
Posts: 6,641
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Tommygunn792 View Post
Zrock,
As long as it is all normal then fine. Mind you the click/tick noise is a small concern but at the moment I'm putting that down to components energising.

I got belted with 230V, I'm in Italy!

Tom.
Tom, I sent you a PM.
Old 01-28-2014, 08:43 AM
  #405  
Zrock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: *, BC, CANADA
Posts: 123
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

ouch... the clicking your hearing could be some sort of built in voltage converter? Im not to familiar with electricity over their
Old 03-13-2014, 07:46 PM
  #406  
ProStreetCamaro
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Glenwood MD
Posts: 106
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hey gentleman what do you think of this psu? 500watts and 40a on the single 12V rail. I am looking for a good solid powerful psu to power a 400watt Turnigy. I want to charge 2 X 2s 500mah and sometimes 2 X 3S 6000mah packs. charger http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store...arehouse_.html

psu http://www.microcenter.com/product/4...us_Power_Suply
Old 01-06-2017, 12:22 AM
  #407  
WhuteverMichael
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: in a house
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

howdy Im way new here how exactly do I save this thread to my pf? plz and ty
Old 04-27-2017, 12:40 AM
  #408  
crapshooter
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 329
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

guys, i just bought a new pcu / atx power supply to convert into a power supply for my lipo charger. my issue is it will only turn on for about 2 secounds before turning off. i have done the proper conversion of using 4 yellow wires / 4 black wires for 12 volts and done the green wire to black wire join i have also installed a 10 ohm - 10 watt sandbar resistor on a black wire to red wire [ 5 volts ] i have tried to get this working but it won,t let me. any tips ? its a 550 watt atx. HELP.
Old 06-13-2017, 03:45 PM
  #409  
dmccormick001
Senior Member
 
dmccormick001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Soddy Daisy, TN
Posts: 217
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Most ATX PSUs have a small gauge brown wire that is a "sense" wire, it must be connected to the 3.3 volt (orange) rail. Look at the 24-pin connector that goes to the motherboard, you'll see that it is wired together with one of the orange wires. If you have removed that connector, you may have to solder the brown wire to the spot on the PCB where the orange wires are/were.

Also, some chargers have large capacitors in them that charge up when the charger is turned on, so you have to turn the charger on BEFORE you power up the PSU, or it will trigger the over-current sensors in the PSU and it will shut down.
Old 03-27-2018, 11:36 PM
  #410  
Seased
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

You are always a great help to everyone here! Thank you for this.
Old 01-22-2019, 02:50 AM
  #411  
king bily
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I suppose the assumption was that you would read the section on remote sensing carefully -- it does reference sensing on the +5v and +12v rail. I have also seen one supply with a sense wire on ground.

I've converted around 80 or so supplies and run latch and voltage level tests on well over 200. There is a lot of variation across models - some supplies will latch and hold without a preload; some will not. A few will run without reconnecting the sense wires; the majority will not. Stability under load varies considerably -- Antec and Sparkle have performed well. To cover all the bases in the conversion process places some burden on the reader to be equally diligent.

If there is mis-information in the conversion, I would appreciate knowing.
Old 01-22-2019, 12:55 PM
  #412  
init4fun
 
init4fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,563
Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Andrew View Post
I suppose the assumption was that you would read the section on remote sensing carefully -- it does reference sensing on the +5v and +12v rail. I have also seen one supply with a sense wire on ground.

I've converted around 80 or so supplies and run latch and voltage level tests on well over 200. There is a lot of variation across models - some supplies will latch and hold without a preload; some will not. A few will run without reconnecting the sense wires; the majority will not. Stability under load varies considerably -- Antec and Sparkle have performed well. To cover all the bases in the conversion process places some burden on the reader to be equally diligent.

If there is mis-information in the conversion, I would appreciate knowing.

andrew
Originally Posted by king bily View Post
I suppose the assumption was that you would read the section on remote sensing carefully -- it does reference sensing on the +5v and +12v rail. I have also seen one supply with a sense wire on ground.

I've converted around 80 or so supplies and run latch and voltage level tests on well over 200. There is a lot of variation across models - some supplies will latch and hold without a preload; some will not. A few will run without reconnecting the sense wires; the majority will not. Stability under load varies considerably -- Antec and Sparkle have performed well. To cover all the bases in the conversion process places some burden on the reader to be equally diligent.

If there is mis-information in the conversion, I would appreciate knowing.
Excuse me "King Bily" , BUT , , is there ANY reason why your post is an exact cut and paste of Andrew's post from 2007 ???? Maybe the fact that your a BOT has something to do with it ????

Consider your Bot butt reported , and hopefully banned real soon ......
Old 06-30-2019, 05:49 PM
  #413  
Andrew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Murray, KY
Posts: 3,201
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by init4fun View Post
Excuse me "King Bily" , BUT , , is there ANY reason why your post is an exact cut and paste of Andrew's post from 2007 ???? Maybe the fact that your a BOT has something to do with it ????

Consider your Bot butt reported , and hopefully banned real soon ......
How very interesting. I haven't visited RCU much in recent years, but decided to view some of my favorite forums over the last couple of weeks. Imagine my surprise when one of the last posts in this thread was one of my own, albeit plagiarized. But, even more astounding is the fact that init4fun made a connection with a comment that was 12 years old!!!

andrew
Old 04-22-2020, 02:19 AM
  #414  
Enrgtech
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

Please note that the high voltage wires that come in from the socket in the side of the PSU should be avoided at all costs! Don't cut them, join them or touch them.
The only wires you need should be bundled together and sent outside of the case.
Identify these wires and ONLY use them, don't grab any other wire that resides inside the case.

Please note that 'brown' is not a very common color on power supplies.. it is on some.. but unless you make sure you know what the wire is, don't tie it to anything.
Do you still have the connector for the power supply? The part that mates to the motherboard?
You can verify the colors by looking at a pinout for that connector. Colors are not a reliable method.

The wires you should need are as follows, and will be part of the wire bundle that exits the PSU and goes to the largest connector.
Yellow - 12V (Ignore the Yellow/Black stripe for now)
Black - Ground (0V)
Green* - Commonly green, not always! Labelled as 'PS-ON' when you google an "ATX pinout"
Please grab a meter and test these wires before using them. They are common colors... but you must always be certain.
Old Yesterday, 12:01 AM
  #415  
Lucifer656
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I'd just find a good dummy load that is gona pull your max load on the charger (test for verification with a shunt if it's over what your ammeter is capable of, and just see what the voltage comes out to be, if it's below 11 I'd put in another resistor =) If you don't want to go to all of that, probably just put in another one =) make sure they are in parallel, because series actually adds the resistive capacities together and would go the opposite way that you are looking for

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.