Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Remember...the only dumb question...

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Remember...the only dumb question...

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2002, 10:55 PM
dreimer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Remember...the only dumb question...

Is the question not asked...

I am just starting out in the Heli world, and have never even started a glow engine...what do you all suggest??

By the way, I have raced electric cars. My dad sent me one of his Shuttle ZX's with a Enya 32.

I remember him starting and running planes in the UC days, but that's it...
Old 04-15-2002, 12:00 AM
JohnVH
My Feedback: (38)

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts

first thing, goto the closest hobby shop and talk to them, they can help you and get you setup with a starter, glow ignitor, fuel, and some hands on looking over the machine.

Good luck
Old 04-15-2002, 12:07 AM
dreimer

Already been there....They gave a quick once over, and I have a 12 starter, a power panel (Hobbico) and a 12v battery.

One of my most pressing questions is, there is a "Glow Plug extender" on the plug, and it goes to a sort of "secondary" plug where I can get to it easier. My question is: Doesn't the plug require 2 leads from the power source? I am assuming yes, with one lead on the nipple of the plug and the other on the base of the plug, correct? The extender is clipped on to the nipple part, and there is another lead on a metal chassis part...

Will this work to light the plug? Also, I hooked up the 12v battery to the power panel, and there is a amp meter, and pot to adjust amperage. When the 12v is hooked up, the meter shows nothing...I checked with a "Real" multimeter, and the voltage and amperage are all there. Also, it seems that the pot does nothing...Am I missing anything?
Old 04-15-2002, 12:10 AM
JohnVH