Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Beginner Setup Issues

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Beginner Setup Issues

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2011, 05:29 PM
Nator

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Beginner Setup Issues

Hello All,
I am pretty new to the electric RCPlane game and am having some issues with my plane. I had just recharged my battery after a rather successful flight. When Itry and start my plane again, it sputters a bit, starts spinning the prop and then stops. If I take the throttle back to zero and start again, the prop spins a bit but then will stop. Iam wondering if it is an issue with my Battery - ESC - Motor issue. I'll put my setup below, if anyone has any insight that would be greatly appreciated. If there is any other information that would help please let me know.

Battery - 11.1v 1300mAh 25C LiPo
ESC - 30A w/BEC
Motor - 1400KV - 10A(15Aburst) 2-4cell

Thanks!

Old 09-19-2011, 06:26 PM
DMcQuinn
My Feedback: (13)

Default RE: Beginner Setup Issues

It could be that the battery did not get charged. Do you have the type of charger that tells you how much energy was put back into the battery? Or is it just a light that comes on? Do you have access to a voltmeter so you can measure the voltage of the battery? Voltmeters have really gotten cheap, by the way. You can get a decent one at Harbor Freight some times for $1.99 (plus shipping).

I'd try charging the battery again. How long did it take to charge after the flight? If it was less than 30 minutes, then it was probably not charged.
Old 09-19-2011, 06:27 PM
DMcQuinn

Oh and if one of the three wires between the ESC and the motor is disconnected or loose, the motor will do some funny things.
Old 09-19-2011, 06:34 PM
Nator