Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

should i get a sig somethin' extra?

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

should i get a sig somethin' extra?

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2011, 08:15 PM
flyinglogan14

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default should i get a sig somethin' extra?

so i have been flying for a couple months and im 15 and i have a trainer and a .40 size cessna 182 and at my local hobby shop there is a sig somethin' extra ready to go only flown 3 times and i t comes with servos and engine i will buy a 2.4 reciver for it because it has 27 mhz on it currently anyways i am looking for opinions on the sig somethin' extra ... how does it preform is it a good plane?
Old 10-17-2011, 10:25 PM
JohnBuckner
My Feedback: (1)

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default RE: should i get a sig somethin' extra?

Ya know Logan the something extra is a classic and and can serve well as a move up the skills ladder. It very well might work well for you.

One red flag though that sticks out like a sore thumb. And that was when you said it has a twenty seven mhz rx in it. Now I know that the idea is to just get a new Rx for it but a 27 in it is very unusual and a direct indication that antiquated eqipment was installed when built.

I would want to know exactly what the servos are if you were planning using them its even possible that they may be non compatable without a plug change and thats a hassle.

You also never indicated exactly what the engine is, I would recommend you find out what you are buying before making a purchase.

John
Old 10-18-2011, 03:27 AM
bingo field

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Could the 27 be a typo? It would concern me. That airframe is a classic, and it can be a super handful if you start right out with full throws. Listen to John, though, as the build could be quite old. Good luck!
Old 10-18-2011, 03:36 AM
flyinglogan14