Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Self-taught Flying, A Different Approach

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Self-taught Flying, A Different Approach

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2013, 11:51 AM
Stormrider51

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Self-taught Flying, A Different Approach

Hello everyone. I'm a 62 year old guy who recently jumped into RC flying. My wife bought me all the gear including a simulator (Phoenix 4) and a plane (Apprentice) with DX6i radio system for my birthday. I accepted common wisdom and made contact with an instructor for assistance and training. That's when the problems started. I live in a rural area where instructors are scarce and we could never seem to match up our schedules and/or the wind conditions. Because of this I spent two weeks working on the simulator, which has the Apprentice programmed in, for at least an hour a day. Often more. Being retired has advantages. The sim gave me the chance to learn stick movements until they became second nature. In my younger days I flew full scale aircraft and I can tell you that two sticks under my thumbs while standing on the ground doesn't have much in common with sitting in a plane with the yoke in left hand, throttle in right, and feet on rudder pedals. Having been through flight school did give me the advantage of knowing the principles of flight such as thrust vs drag and lift vs gravity. I already knew how the various controls affect the flight of the plane. Beyond that I was as much a newbie as anyone.