Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Beginner question

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Beginner question

Old 05-26-2020, 05:45 PM
  #1  
RoyB
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Beginner question

I bought a Hobbyzone Sport Cub to try flying. Have been running RC touring cars for a few years.
Have been practicing in the #0 beginner mode. Decided to try the #1 mode. Took off with it in #0 and when it was in the air flipped it into #1. The plane immediately went into a severe dive. In the #1 it was flying level with the toggle in neutral position.

Is this normal? I am using the cheap transmitter that came with plane.

thanks for any help.

EDIT, I just checked and elevators do move when changing from #0 to #1.

Last edited by RoyB; 05-26-2020 at 07:50 PM.
Old 05-29-2020, 08:22 PM
  #2  
jester_s1
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 7,001
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

No, it definitely shouldn't do that. I haven't owned one of the SAFE planes before, so I can't help you with settings.
Do you see the elevator move when going from 0 to 1 on the ground?
Old 05-29-2020, 08:36 PM
  #3  
RoyB
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jester_s1 View Post
No, it definitely shouldn't do that. I haven't owned one of the SAFE planes before, so I can't help you with settings.
Do you see the elevator move when going from 0 to 1 on the ground?
Yes, the elevators move quite a bit when I change from 0 to 1. This is a cheap short distance transmitter that comes with the plane. Have been thinking about getting a long range spektrum, but not sure if that will fix the problem.

Roy

Old 05-31-2020, 07:09 AM
  #4  
mgnostic
 
mgnostic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kamay, TX
Posts: 1,167
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

It is likely that your airplane was set up with too much down elevator. When in safe mode the radio compensated for the down elevator and kept the airplane in level flight. You may, in fact, want to get a nicer radio at some point but this problem can be solved with mechanical adjustments on the ground. With the aircraft propped into a level flight position you shouldn't see much if any change in the elevator position when shifting from position #1 to #2. You may be able to accomplish this with the electronic trim switches on the radio but it is better to do it mechanically.
Old 05-31-2020, 08:36 AM
  #5  
RoyB
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thank you. I am going to try that. It could be the reason it is doing it.
Old 06-02-2020, 07:30 AM
  #6  
jester_s1
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 7,001
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

I'm going to suggest, if you are able, to get an experienced pilot to fly and trim the model for you without SAFE mode on. That way, you'll be able to start with a properly trimmed model that flies straight and level and has the throws set right. Most beginner difficulties come from flying poorly trimmed planes. These toys are actually pretty easy to handle if they are set up properly.
Old 06-02-2020, 10:31 AM
  #7  
RoyB
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

That would be tough. Live in a very rural area and fly in a field.
After more testing I think that that there is something wrong with the safe mode in either the plane or radio. It will be flying perfectly and all of a sudden make a 180* turn or start up or down.. The plane does not have the fence system that some have so that is not causing it.
I can now fly it better with the safe mode off.
Going to take it apart and see if anything has a loose plug.
Old 06-02-2020, 11:12 AM
  #8  
JohnBuckner
My Feedback: (1)
 
JohnBuckner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 10,441
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by RoyB View Post
I can now fly it better with the safe mode off.
.
Seems a good time to turn it off?
Old 06-02-2020, 04:11 PM
  #9  
RoyB
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Okay, took plane apart unplugged all of wires and replugged them in. Put it together and rechecked the settings. Took it out and plane seemed to fly correctly. The wind was to strong so could not try a lot of things. Hopefully Checking all of wires fixed the problem.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.