Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

How much land ?

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

How much land ?

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2022, 09:01 AM
cafguy

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default How much land ?

Hello forum, really love this place for info and as a builder I am constantly improving my skills everyday just by reading the great posts but I also love to fly and although Im no capt. Sully I consider myself not to half bad when it comes to scooting around in the air. My problem is Flying clubs there are a few in my area ( probably much more than most people have) but none seem really open to getting any new members not that they are not friendly--- They are. and not that they are egotistical or unhelpful, Every member of these clubs that I talked too seemed very inviting and helpful. It just seems that when I would go to check the flying field out I usually end up getting a talk about all the cons of joining the club and none of the Pros maybe these clubs have been burned by too many newbies causing problems, not sure So anyway on to the question as stated to fly my planes how much land in acres would be say the minimum. thanx in advance
Old 08-29-2022, 09:12 AM
N8theSk8

I am sorry you have had that experience. But the size of land would depend on the size of plane you are flying but here are the ama guidelines:

Suggested%20Flying%20Site%20Specifications.pdf
Old 08-29-2022, 09:32 AM
Charlie P.

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

If you are in the USA check out the FAA website and the FAA Recognized identification Areas (FRIA) before you invest in property to fly anything weighing more than 0.55 pounds over. It may be against the law in 2023.

We are about to be forced to either join recognized clubs and fly only there or else invest in new Remote ID devices or Tx/Rx that broadcast altitude and Lat/Lon data. Devices yet to be designed or available.