Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Setting control surface throw.

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Setting control surface throw.

Old 11-26-2022, 06:27 AM
  #1  
model14
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 18
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Setting control surface throw.

Use the servo and control surface arms/horns to set design throw with max on servo arm and min on control surface horn, or the opposite, or a little of both?
Set midpoint on both servo and control surface horn and use dual rate on transmitter to set throws?
Or something else?
It is confusing for a newbie.
Old 11-26-2022, 08:30 AM
  #2  
daveopam
My Feedback: (9)
 
daveopam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ELK CITY, OK
Posts: 7,789
Received 38 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

It depends on the plane to a point. I am going to assume you have something mild like a trainer. Put the rod in the servo arm as far away from the servo as possible when using a stock length arm. On the surface end also connect as far out as possible. This is the ideal set up for the surface end as it gives the push rod the most leverage. It's not ideal for the servo end as it takes the most effort for the servo to push and hold the surface. However most of us use more servo strength than needed and you should be fine.
Dual rates are also not a bad idea. But be careful here also. I used to set mine up as follows. I am a thumb flyer and just flying around my sticks rarely move far from center. The sticks probably never move more than the size of a nickel. SO when setting up dual rates I have max throw on high rate. Then to set the low rate I use a combination of expo and dual rate. I turn the plane on and move the stick to the size of a nickle away from center. Then adjust the rate so matter which position the dual rate switch is set to the surface moves the same amount at this stick movement. This is done so if you accidentally take off with the switch in the wrong position the plane will fly the same. I've been flying many years and only fly on high rate now with lots of expo. For a beginer though as I suggested above is a safe way to do it.

David
Old 12-01-2022, 12:36 PM
  #3  
Battle Short
My Feedback: (5)
 
Battle Short's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 86
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Set the midpoints as close as possible mechanically with radio trim at zero and endpoints at 100%. Then fine tune everything using the radio's trim and endpoint settings on the dual rate HIGH setting. Finally set the dual rate LOW settings on the radio.

In short: MECHANICALLY first, ELECTRONICALLY second.

Glenn
Old 12-01-2022, 01:11 PM
  #4  
model14
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 18
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Thanks for the information.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.