Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Vintage Servo Question

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Vintage Servo Question

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2023, 11:08 AM
Bigdipper99

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Vintage Servo Question

I'm just getting into the RC hobby and am in the process of building my first plane, a SIG Kadet Mark II. I'm trying to do it on a budget and a couple of weeks ago I picked up a complete vintage (1980s? ) Futaba "Conquest" six channel system at an RC flea market for $20, The outfit has the radio, receiver, four S 148 servos, batteries, charger and other misc. parts with most of the stuff appearing to be lightly used or unused, still wrapped in plastic. I've reached the point in the construction of the wing where its time to install the aileron servo in the wing. However, I've noticed that the top of the servo extends above the bottom of the wing. The wing will be installed on top of the fuselage and the servo will be out of sight. However, I'm concerned that the servo could possibly interfere with other servos, linkages or equipment within the fuselage. Am I reading too much into this and seeing a problem that doesnt exist? Can wing servos extend beyond the skin of a wing? Thanks, John

Old 02-11-2023, 12:57 PM
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)

Received 176 Likes on 151 Posts

John, yes on the older stuff it was common practice to have the top of aileron servo occupy the main radio compartment. Sometimes it gets a little tight but as long as there is no interaction your good to go. Here is a great example with my1980 Quickie 500.

Old 02-11-2023, 09:46 PM
Hydro Junkie

Received 130 Likes on 123 Posts