Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

what/how do you fly in the winter?

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.
View Poll Results: A poll
i dont get snow
29.27%
i take a break from flying
14.63%
i put skis on my plane
42.68%
i belly land my plane
8.54%
i shovel a 50' runway
4.88%
Voters: 82. You may not vote on this poll

what/how do you fly in the winter?

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2003, 09:32 AM
steener

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default what/how do you fly in the winter?

just wondering what you do for the winter.
Old 12-07-2003, 09:53 AM
Balsa Master

Default RE: what/how do you fly in the winter?

Skis are definatly ure best bet. (Asside from taking a break, but thats 4 noobies) lol
Old 12-07-2003, 09:59 AM
steener

hey wait, i am a newbie lol. i want to continue flying because i dont believe i can just stop cause of a little snow and cold. its the older guys at the club that quit for the winter.
Old 12-07-2003, 10:50 AM
TerrellFlyer

Use skies,use a plane that is hand launched,clean the snow off the runway,get a small electric and fly inside. Think I'm one of those old guys,been there,done that,that is the reason I fly all year. Have fun,stay warm.
Old 12-07-2003, 12:58 PM
Balsa Master

if you can build, get an aqua star, its POS but it wil lfly off show with no skis flies off water looks good too. (warning, not a first time build the instructions suck and the plans are about as bad, but if youve build one plane b4 you cna do this)

its cheap and flies wiht std servos and a .061 engine (my preference) but will fly .049-.071 (small eh?)

no ailerons though, but if your into the idea and have knowage to do so, you can add them but i recomned going to micro servos if you do.

also, if you do build it FIBERGLASS THE HELL OUT OF THE ENGINE PYLON

that is the most poorly designed part.

or you could get the GP version but ive never built and gant speek from experiance on that 1.